School of Information Systems

Project Management Body of Knowledge

Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) is a collection of process and knowledge areas generally accepted as best practice within project management discipline. It does not prescribe a methodology, rather good time-tested process that we can use on project to ensure success. PMBOK has five basic process groups and nine knowledge areas typical of almost all projects. The five basic process groups which are applicable to projects, programs and operations are:

  1. Initiating
  2. Planning
  3. Executing
  4. Monitoring and controlling
  5. Closing

The nine knowledge areas are:

  1. Project Integration Management
  2. Project Scope Management
  3. Project Time Management
  4. Project Cost Management
  5. Project Quality Management
  6. Project Human Resource Management
  7. Project Communications Management
  8. Project Risk Management
  9. Project Procurement Management

Processes are described in three terms which are inputs, tools and techniques and outputs. Each knowledge area contains some or all of the project management processes. PMBOK is published by Project Management Institute (PMI). There are two level of certification offered by PMI which are Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) and Project Management Professional (PMP).

Sugiarto Hartono,S.Kom., MMSI